Dan #3

 

After supper, I was called by two soldiers and taken to Lieutenant Roberts tent. I had been  charged with theft and desertion and had no clue why. He told me I had disobeyed the Governor’s orders by stealing the dog and that I had left my post. Then he told get a good nights sleep and first thing in the morning, I was told I was going to get flogged. At night, my good friend Goodwin and I went into the triangle, where I was going to get flogged the next morning. My heart ached as we walked into the triangle.

 

Then, just before Goodwin was going to start talking to me about some random things Waruwi approached me. She was holding kangaroo skin, and I could tell that there was something inside of it. Then Goodwin stopped me and asked if I wasn’t already in enough trouble already. I didn’t really care about what he said, so I looked inside of the kangaroo skin and I could just see the faint silhouette of a small dog. Goodwin looked inside too and saw the dog, his frown had turned into a smile. Waruwi then handed the puppy to us and left.

 

We took it to Lieutenant Roberts, where I was about to get flogged. I was surrounded with soldiers around him. He looked at me and asked me if I had any last words, and I hesitated for a bit but I said that I did. He asked me to explain, so I showed him the puppy and told him how much easier it would be to train the puppy than a full grown dog. He thought about it for a moment but then told me about how lucky I was to have this puppy. He told me that I was responsible for taking care of the dog and smiled at me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Hey Annabelle,

    I love your piece of writing. The way you set it out was amazing, and the story was really easy to follow. Amazing job.

    -Rose

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *